The short answer
California sets the same costs on both paths. The Secretary of State's published LLC fee schedule lists $70 for the Articles of Organization. It also lists $20 for the Statement of Information, which is due within 90 days of registration and then every 2 years.
The Franchise Tax Board's LLC page sets the annual LLC tax at $800 per year. The first-year exemption from that tax has expired. It applied only to tax years from January 1, 2021 to before January 1, 2024. A California LLC formed in 2026 therefore owes the $800 for its first year, due by the 15th day of the 4th month after filing with the Secretary of State.
ZenBusiness charges on top of those amounts:
- Starter is $0 plus the state fee. ZenBusiness's published pricing does not state a renewal charge for Starter, so confirm it before choosing.
- Pro is $199 per year.
- Premium is $299 per year.
- The registered agent is a separate service on every tier, including Premium. It costs $99 for the first year when you form with ZenBusiness and $199 per year after that.
Both paths also share two other steps. You need an operating agreement, which the Secretary of State says is required but is not filed with the state. And you can get an EIN free from the IRS once the LLC exists.
What ZenBusiness sells is convenience. Whether that is worth paying for depends on how much of the paperwork you want to handle yourself.
California fees, deadlines and requirements
| Item | Figure or requirement | Official source |
|---|---|---|
| Articles of Organization filing fee | $70.00 | California Secretary of State, LLC fee schedule |
| Statement of Information fee | $20.00 | California Secretary of State, LLC fee schedule |
| Statement of Information deadline | Within 90 days of registration, then every 2 years | California Secretary of State, LLC fee schedule |
| Missing the Statement of Information | Can result in suspension or forfeiture | California Secretary of State, status definitions |
| Annual LLC tax | $800 per year | Franchise Tax Board, LLC page |
| First-year $800 exemption | Expired. Applied only to tax years from 1/1/2021 to before 1/1/2024 | Franchise Tax Board, LLC page |
| First-year tax due date | 15th day of the 4th month after filing with the Secretary of State | Franchise Tax Board, LLC page |
| Short form cancellation | Cancelling within one year avoids the first-year $800 | Franchise Tax Board, LLC page |
| Operating agreement | Required, but not filed with the state | California Secretary of State, business types |
| Agent for service of process | The LLC cannot act as its own agent | California Secretary of State, business entities FAQ |
| EIN | $0 from the IRS, after the entity is formed | IRS, Get an Employer Identification Number |
| Federal BOI reporting | Companies created in the US are exempt | FinCEN, Beneficial Ownership Information |
The two paths side by side
Listed alphabetically, not ranked.
| Path | Service fee | State and FTB charges | Registered agent |
|---|---|---|---|
| File directly on bizfile | None | $70 Articles, $20 Statement of Information, $800 annual tax | You name one. It cannot be the LLC itself |
| ZenBusiness | Starter $0 plus state fee (renewal not stated in published pricing; confirm before choosing). Pro $199 per year. Premium $299 per year | The same amounts, paid in addition to the service fee | Separate service on every tier: $99 first year, $199 per year after |
What filing yourself actually involves
Filing directly means completing the Articles of Organization on bizfile and paying the $70 fee. After that, you take care of each of these yourself:
- Registered agent. The Secretary of State's FAQ is clear that an entity cannot act as its own agent for service of process, so you must name someone else.
- Operating agreement. You write it or source a template. It stays in your records, since it is not filed with the state.
- EIN. You apply once the LLC is formed. The IRS says an EIN is free and that you should never pay a third party for one.
- Deadlines. You track the Statement of Information and the first $800 payment on your own calendar.
None of this is complicated. The risk on the DIY path is forgetting, not difficulty. A missed Statement of Information is the one that bites, because the Secretary of State lists suspension or forfeiture as the result.
What ZenBusiness adds, and what it does not
A service does not change what California charges. The $70, $20 and $800 are the same whether you file yourself or through ZenBusiness. The service fee is a separate line on top.
ZenBusiness's registered agent deserves attention because it is where the pricing is easiest to misread. It is not bundled into any tier, including Premium.
The current shape is Premium at $299 per year plus the agent at $99 for the first year and $199 per year after that. If you plan to use ZenBusiness as your agent, count that second line when you budget for year two.
For the features in each tier, compare what ZenBusiness lists against the filings in the table above. That shows you which of your own tasks you would actually be handing off.
Which path fits you
Filing directly on bizfile is the better call if:
- You are the only owner.
- You are comfortable with online forms.
- You have someone suitable to name as agent.
- You will reliably put two dates on your calendar: the 90-day Statement of Information and the first $800 payment.
In that situation, a paid tier mostly buys what you could do in an afternoon.
ZenBusiness fits better if:
- You want a commercial registered agent anyway.
- You would rather not manage the filing mechanics.
- You value having one place that handles formation and the agent together.
The Starter tier, at $0 plus the state fee, is the low-commitment way to test that. Its renewal terms are not stated in ZenBusiness's published pricing, so confirm them first. The agent cost applies no matter which tier you pick.
This site earns a commission on some links, including ZenBusiness. That does not change the recommendation above. If you fit the DIY description, filing yourself is the cheaper and perfectly sound option.
If plans change in the first year
The Franchise Tax Board notes that a short form cancellation filed within one year avoids the first-year $800. If there is a real chance the business will not go ahead, keep that option in mind before the first payment comes due.
FAQ
What is the California LLC Articles of Organization filing fee on bizfile?
It is $70.00, according to the Secretary of State's LLC fee schedule. The fee is the same if a service files for you.
Is the California LLC $800 annual tax due in the first year in 2026?
Yes. The Franchise Tax Board states that the first-year exemption applied only to tax years from January 1, 2021 to before January 1, 2024. For an LLC formed in 2026, the first $800 is due by the 15th day of the 4th month after filing with the Secretary of State.
What is the California LLC Statement of Information fee, and is it due within 90 days?
The fee is $20.00, and it is due within 90 days of registration, then every 2 years. Both points come from the Secretary of State's fee schedule.
Should I pay a company to get my EIN?
No. The IRS provides EINs free and advises never paying a third party for one. Apply after the LLC is formed.
Does a California LLC have to file a federal BOI report?
No. FinCEN's beneficial ownership guidance states that companies created in the United States are exempt from federal BOI reporting.
Sources
- Internal Revenue Service, “Get an employer identification number”
- Financial Crimes Enforcement Network, “Beneficial Ownership Information Reporting”
- California Secretary of State, “Limited Liability Companies (LLC) - California”
- California Secretary of State, “Starting a Business – Entity Types”
- California Secretary of State, “Business Entities Frequently Asked Questions”
- California Secretary of State, “Field Status Definitions and Suspensions”
- California Franchise Tax Board, “Limited Liability Company”
This is general information, not legal advice, and requirements vary by state and change over time.